Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Review ~ Playing with Fire by Lexi Ryan

Dr. Phoenix Reid isn't who she seems...

Everyone knows a phoenix rises from the ashes. What they don't talk about are the people she drags with her into the fire.

I thought one hot night with Max Hallowell was harmless. I never expected it would force me to face my past or bring back the man who swore he'd never let me go. Now Max wants to help me. Wants to save me. But if I let him, he'll be destroyed. I can already smell the flames. 

A woman with a secret past. A man determined to protect her. A dangerous passion that could cost them both everything.

Playing with Fire is the first in a new series of standalone novels featuring the New Hope characters Lexi Ryan fans have come to love. While you wait for Nix and

Max's storyexplore Love Unbound, the collection of books set in Lexi's New Hope world. 

*Note: Each series can be read on its own, but for the chronology purists, the reading order is below.

Love Unbound: Splintered Hearts

Unbreak Me (Maggie’s story)

Stolen Wishes: A Wish I May Prequel Novella (Will and Cally’s prequel)

Wish I May (Will and Cally’s novel)

Or read them together in the omnibus edition, Splintered Hearts: The New Hope Trilogy

Love Unbound: Here and Now

Lost in Me (Hanna’s story begins)

Fall to You (Hanna’s story continues)
All for This (Hanna’s story concludes)

Or read them together in the omnibus edition, Here and Now: The Complete Series

Love Unbound: Reckless and Real

Something Wild (Liz and Sam’s story begins)

Something Reckless (Liz and Sam’s story continues)
Something Real (Liz and Sam’s story concludes)

Love Unbound: Mended Hearts

Adult Contemporary Romance

About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling romance author Lexi Ryan’s novels have been described as intense, emotional, and wickedly sexy. A former college professor, she now writes full-time from her home in Indiana, where she lives with her husband, two children, and a neurotic dog. Find her on Facebook or Twitter to chat about books, TV, and her children’s latest antics.

My Thoughts:

I started with the Here and Now books, Hanna's story. I have been completely addicted since then.

This one is one I have been waiting for. I felt for Max in Hanna's books and I am glad that he finally found his one. :-)

Nix is another great character. Actually, all of the characters from New Hope are really likable except Meredith.  I don't think I will ever like her.

Nix is the Doctor and a member of the girl's gang. This is her story. She has been a little mysterious in each of the books and now we finally get to understand why.

I loved this story. It had a damsel in distress, a hero without a stallion, some danger, fires, sexy scenes, romance, friendship, parenthood issues, and so much more.

The pages of this book were packed with romance, suspense, action and danger, sexy parts, drama and wonderful characters.

I recommend the whole series! Each book has been great.

I received an ecopy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. It was fabulous! I can't wait for more. I have my suspicion who cat woman is and I can't wait to find out!

Also, I apologize for not having the purchase links listed for you, my computer got a virus and I am using someone else's computer. It is older and not able to open and download many of the apps that I need to access. Luckily, I had most of the post ready ahead of time! Thanks for understanding!

Don't forget to enter the Comment Incentive Giveaway. It is a great chance to win a book you'd like to have!


  1. Looks like it time for computer problem of all kind, i hope you will be able to recuperate it without loosing anything

    here is the the link for those wanting to get the book after this fabulous review:

  2. I really really need to read this series!!! Thanks for the great review and reminding me of them.