Sunday, December 9, 2012

VBT: Review ~ Bitter Frost by Kailin Gow

All her life, Breena had always dreamed about fairies as though she lived among them...beautiful fairies living among mortals and living in Feyland. In her dreams, he was always there the breathtakingly handsome but dangerous Winter Prince, Kian, who is her intended. When Breena turns sixteen, she begins seeing fairies and other creatures mortals don t see. Her best friend Logan, suddenly acts very protective. Then she sees Kian, who seems intent on finding her and carrying her off to Feyland. That's fine and all, but for the fact that humans rarely survive a trip to Feyland, a kiss from a fairy generally means death to the human unless that human has fairy blood in them or is very strong, and although Kian seemed to be her intended, he seems to hate her and wants her dead.

This edgy tale about beautiful and dangerous fairies, based on Dutch lore, will leave you breathless...

Title: Bitter Frost

Author: Kailin Gow

Genre:YA Paranormal Fantasy

Date Published: 6/2010

Buy it from: Amazon 

About the Author:  

Kailin Gow has appeared on top national syndicated talk shows such as ABC Radio, Barbara Dooley show, Chat with Women on KKNW Seattle, Broadminded on Sirius Radio XM, and more as a leading authority on YA and women's issues including self-esteem, body image, dating and sexual relationships, abuse, and bullying. Kailin has been a published author for over 10 years with over 100 titles published under her name and under pen names.

She is the founder of the community social site, The Saving You Saving Me Project, which helps teens, young adults, and women deal with social issues like sexual abuse, self-esteem, body image, bullying, cutting, relationships, and more in a positive community environment. The Saving You Saving Me Project is an extention of her YA-mature fiction Saving You Saving Me.

Kailin Gow began writing books for tween girls to help them with self-confidence and self-esteem. Her book, Gifted Girls Activities Guide to 365 Days of the Week, became a reference book used in girls organizations across the U.S. As her tween fans grew to become teens and young adults, Kailin began writing engaging and entertaining young adult book series for them. The results are book series like the Frost Series, PULSE Series, Wicked Woods Series, Stoker Sisters, Phantom Diaries, The Fire Wars, FADE, DESIRE, and more.

All her books are inspired by personal experiences. Saving You Saving Me was inspired by her experience as a peer counselor for young women during college and from her psychology major college roommate's experience being in a relationship similar to the one portrayed by Sam and Collins in the book. Loving Summer was inspired by Kailin's experience growing up with a family consisting of a mother, two sons, and a daughter who went through a similar experience of tragedy in the book. Aunt Sookie is based on herself and some actor friends she knows. The Frost Series, Circus of Curiosities Series, and FADE Series came about through vivid dreams. Never Say Never was inspired by Kailin's experience as a radio host and working with and interviewing bands, as well as having college friends who were in bands. Kailin also played the drums and keyboard for a band she once started. A classically-trained musician, she was once led her school orchestra, playing first chair violin. Her experience in the music world and her love of Phantom of the Opera, inspired the Phantom Diaries. PULSE was inspired when Kailin was in the hospital suffering from heavy blood loss post surgery and needed several bags of blood to survive (like a vampire). Beautiful Beings was inspired by her college encounter with a young demon exorcist. A pastor once told her she had the gift of sight and that she was destined to become a prolific author, many times over.

She began taking her writing seriously when her daughter was diagnosed as being on the spectrum and her mother was fighting three types of cancer. Four years later, her daughter was no longer on the spectrum, and her mother became cancer free. Kailin believes in hope and miracles, after having been through several struggles and experiences herself. This is why she writes.

When not busy inhaling chocolate and drinking coffee by the gallon, Kailin makes time for writing fantasy books, blogging as an expert blogger for Fast Company, volunteering as an Emergency Responder and volunteering for battered women's shelters. For fun, she plays the electric violin, and puts together a music playlist for her radio and web shows.

Her Frost Series consisting of the Bitter Frost Series, The Wolf Fey Series, and the Fairy Rose Chronicles along with her other book series are being developed into worldwide MMORPG Games by SEE GLOBAL ENTERTAINMENT, which is the world's leading game developer known for developing the top blockbuster films into games.

Connect with her: Website or Facebook or Twitter 

For more info on New releases and giveaways go to:

My Thoughts:

Why oh why did I wait so long to read this book? I now have seven more books to read in order to catch up on this series!

I was entranced with Bitter Frost almost from the beginning! The descriptive scenery and the creatures made it truly feel like I was out of this world.

The romance was sweet and who doesn't like a love triangle at the beginning of a series? I go on record saying that as of right now, I am totally team Logan. However, I reserve the right to change my mind as I read more of this series!

The plot had action, mystery, romance, supernatural creatures, a fairy war, a beautiful place called Feyland, and more!

If you like YA paranormal books, this is a must read!!! My only regrets after reading this book is that I didn't read it sooner and that I have to wait to read the rest of the series. :(

Here is the reading order for those of you who need to catch up on this series. Just click on the title and it will take you to it's Amazon page!

Bitter Frost (Bk1)  Forever Frost (Bk2)  Silver Frost (Bk3) 

Frost Kisses (Bk4)  Midnight Frost (Bk5)  Frost Fire (Bk6) 

             Spring Frost(Bk7)  Enchanted Frost(Bk8)  

                    The Book of Faeyore(Bk#0.5)

Bitter Frost also contained a short book called The Wolf Fey which told a little bit of a background story about Logan. It was short but well written and I've added the other books in that series to my TBR list too. Here are the links to the other books in that series as well!

The Red Wolf (Bk2 in the Wolf Fey series)   Wolf Magic (Bk 3)

I have also discovered many other interesting books by the talented Kailin Gow. I've added quite a few books to my TBR list after reading this. :D

I received a copy of this book from RABT in exchange for my honest opinion. I honestly thought it was really good and I am eager to read more!

I'd love to know what you're thinking. Please leave a comment!

No comments:

Post a Comment