Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Interview with Missy Johnson and Ashley Suzanne the authors of Breaking Noah

http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/02/breaking-noah-by-missy-johnson-and.html


About the Authors:

Missy Johnson is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in a small town in Victoria, Australia, with her husband and her confused pets (a dog who thinks that she is a cat, a cat who thinks he is a dog . . . you get the picture). When she’s not writing, she can usually be found looking for something to read.


Ashley Suzanne has been writing for as long as she can remember. As a youngster, she was always creating stories and talking to her imaginary friends. Thankfully, her parents also carried this love of fiction, and helped her grow into the bestselling author she is today. When Ashley isn’t coming up with her next story, you'll most likely find her on the couch, telling her husband all about her new book boyfriend, or spending quality time with her two gremlins . . . er, adorable children.


 Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads


Here is what the shared with me:



What part of writing do you find the most challenging? most enjoyable? Ashley – the most challenging is listening to the characters.  Sometimes I find myself wanting to change things and then agonizing over it until I finally let the character say it the way they want.  Most enjoyable is being crazy and it being acceptable <3 b=""> 
Missy: I find the beginning the most challenging, because I have this story planned out in my head and getting in onto paper initially can be hard. Once I get into a story and it begins to flow the writing comes much easier.

Which of your characters are your favorite to write?  the easiest?  the hardest?  the most fun? Ashley – I love writing male POV, but it’s also the hardest, but ends up being the most fun.  See what I mean about crazy.
Missy: I love writing from the male POV, especially males who love sex and have a filthy mouth. My all time fave character to write would be Jack Falcon from my Beautiful Rose series. He’s a smart mouthed British manwhore and I love how he changes as the series progresses.

In what scenario do you do your best work? Ashley – night time, glass of Pepsi and a full pack of cigarettes
Missy: When I’m alone with no distractions (that includes TV and music). I like complete silence so I can lose myself in my world.

What is your Favorite beverage? Ashley – non-alcoholic would be Mountain Dew … I’m a huge fan of wine otherwise.  White wine!
Missy: Usually Coke, though being pregnant at the moment it’s orange juice :p

Tell us about an embarrassing moment or another interesting time that you want to share with us. Ashley – so this one time I was sitting inside of a crowded restaurant with Lesley Jones and I was asking if I should have a fanny pack to put my passport in so it didn’t get stolen while in London.  Come to find out, after she nearly choked on her drink, that a fanny in the UK is something TOTALLY different ….
Missy: The first time hubby met my lovely, elderly, fragile, church going grandma she asked me if I still play the organ (I haven’t played in years, since I was a child). Hubby (then just my boyfriend) pipes up with “I’ve got an organ Missy loves playing with at home.” I had to leave the room I was that mortified!! I couldn’t look the poor woman in the eye for months.

Which do you prefer fresh air or air conditioning? Ashley – AC!!!!
Missy: Fresh air so long as it’s cool. If it’s stuffy and hot, air conditioning all the way

How do you prefer to communicate (in person, texting, email, or phone)? Ashley – depends on the person, but probably texting is easiest and what I do most often.
Missy: I’m big on texting. I don’t love talking on the phone, haha

Do you collect anything? Ashley – I collect nutcrackers and owls.  Obsessed completely with both.
Missy: At the moment I feel like I’m collecting baby clothes. Way too many pretty baby girl clothes out there J

If you suddenly had two free hours, how would you spend them? Ashley – SLEEPING!!!
Missy: Probably sleeping :p

What type of music do you listen to? Ashley – it might be shorter list of what do I not listen to.  And that list would be blank.
Missy:  I like rock, pop anything I can sing along to.

Are you more likely to wear a skirt or pants? Ashley – uhhhhhhhh can I not wear either?  I much prefer long shirts LOL.  But if I had to choose, I’m picking my leggings each and every time.  Chances are, if I am wearing a skirt, I’m wearing leggings underneath.
Missy: Pants. I don’t do skirts or dresses. The last dress I wore was for my wedding.

What food can't you live without? Ashley – I’m fat and the answer would be French fries and chocolate shakes.
Missy: Hmm. At the moment it’s pasta, though it changes every week.

If you could pick any destination, where would you go? Ashley – back to London!!!
Missy: Australia is so far away from everything that I’d settle for anywhere. I’d love to go to the US so I can meet my fans and other authors. I feel I miss out on so much being where I am.


Thank you both for taking the time to answer my questions. :D





Breaking Noah


By: Missy Johnson & Ashley Suzanne


Releasing May 12, 2015


Loveswept 

Purchase Links:





https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23636584-breaking-noah?from_search=true

Blurb


What happens when you start falling for your worst enemy? Fans of Abbi Glines and Monica Murphy will relish this addictive novel of smoking-hot seduction—and revenge gone so wrong, it’s right.

I wasn’t always this jaded. I had a clear head, things I wanted out of life, and a concise plan on how to get there. For being only twenty-one, I pretty much had it all figured out. Until the day my cousin died.

I spent months going over all the details surrounding her death, trying to figure out how I missed the signs, and the only thing I could come up with was she would still be alive if it wasn’t for one person: her professor. So I transferred to his college, enrolled in his class, and set my new plan in motion.

First I’ll seduce him. Then I’ll ruin him. I’ve just got to stay strong and not let his charm and my emotions get the best of me. Because someone has to pay for her death. If it’s the last thing I do, I’m going to break Noah.

Excerpt:


“I’m serious, Zara. I can be your friend and your teacher.”
I hold back a snort. Does he even realize how bad that sounds? “I don’t even know what friends do, it’s been so long since I had one.” As the thoughts of Karly creep to the forefront of my memories, I shove them back down. Granted, she’s the reason I’m pursuing this in the first place; I need to foster the anger and push aside the sadness. It’s the only way I can make this work.
“We’ll start off easy,” he jokes. “What are you reading?”
Time to amp it up a little, get him outside his comfort zone.
“Right now, nothing, but earlier I was falling in love with Christian. There’s just something about the older, dominant man and the younger, na├»ve woman. And let’s not forget the mind-blowing intimate scenes. Have you read it, Mr. Bain?”
I can almost picture him—his Adam’s apple bobbing with his shocked gulp as he’s trying to swallow down what he really wants to say and let only the words that he should say come out of his mouth.
“Mr. Bain, are you there? Did I lose you?” I ask, already knowing that he’s still on the other end of the line . . . he’s breathing far too loudly for our phones to have been disconnected.
“I’m here,” he grumbles. “I didn’t know you were into those types of books. You caught me off guard.” I already knew that. It was kind of my plan.
“So you know what book I was talking about.” I giggle. “Anyway, I read all kinds of books. Sometimes when I’m just coming off a classic like what we were reading in class, I like to switch it up. Keeps me from getting bored.” I pause and bite my lip, wondering what he’s thinking right now. Is he imagining me handcuffed to a bed? Hands bound with a tie? My ass bright pink with the clear impression of his hand on my cheeks? Fuck, now I’m working myself up.
“I kept seeing that book all over the place and I know they’re making a movie. I was curious to see what all the hype is about. Not the greatest thing ever, but it kept me interested. And the actual story—I mean, the sex was great—some places had me all ‘wow.’ But the story behind it is what blew me away. It was amazing. And it’s worth reading just for the elevator scene.” I laugh.
“That’s . . . interesting.” His voice has a tremble to it and I can faintly hear him as he swallows.
There’s no greater feeling than rendering him speechless. I ponder digging in a little more—weighing the pros and cons in my head—and conclude it’s now or never. I have to test the waters.
“Have you ever had great sex like that, Mr. Bain? I feel like I’m missing out. When I’m with Dillon, it isn’t terrible, but it feels like I’m missing something important.” I grin, my hand flying to my mouth. I cannot believe I’m saying this. “Like there’s supposed to be this earth- shattering moment that makes you forget about everything else and focus only on the present. I don’t get anything remotely close to that with him. I don’t even think he’s made me orgasm. Not without the help of my fingers, anyway.” I giggle again and wait for his response.
“Zara,” he breathes, trying to stop me. I wonder if he’s hard thinking of me coming using my fingers. I can’t lie and say that I’m not a little aroused right now, too.
“You did say we were friends, right? This is the kind of thing I would assume that friends talk about. Still want to be my friend, Mr. Bain?” I’ve never heard this octave of my voice before —deep, seductive, and packed full of flirtation I’m sure he’s picking up on.
He doesn’t respond, but I can still hear his fast-paced breathing, just like before. I’m starting to feel sorry for the guy. Or maybe I’m feeling powerful. Like I have the ability to mess with his train of thought this badly. It’s an extremely empowering feeling.
“I’m sorry, Mr. Bain. I’ll let you go. I didn’t mean to take up all of your time. Have a good night.”
“Zara, wait.” He cuts in. “We don’t have to get off the phone. You caught me off guard is all. I’m honestly not sure what to say. I’m not in the habit of discussing erotica novels with my friends,” he says. “And I wouldn’t want anyone to get the wrong idea about our relationship.”
“I don’t want to get you in any trouble.” I fib. “It’s just hard, you know? Not having anyone to talk to. I mean, I could talk to Dillon, but he’d just get really defensive and go out again, which would leave me in the same situation I am now . . . alone. Maybe I should just go back home. Things aren’t working out how I imagined.”
To be honest, they’re not exactly going to plan . . . they’re going much better.
Men are so easy to manipulate. Play around with the damsel-in-distress act long enough and they become putty in your hands. Just like this.


This sounds good to me! I plan to read it this summer and when I get to it, I'll share my thoughts with you.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 
Don't forget to enter the Comment Incentive Giveaway. It is a great chance to win a book you'd like to have!

4 comments:

  1. it sound good yes but i'm still unsure so i'm more than happy to know that we will get your thoughts of it later this year

    thank you also for the great interview!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for hosting Missy and Ashley!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Congrats to Missy and Ashley on the new release! I really enjoyed the author interview. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds really good! And love the interview! Very funny! :)

    ReplyDelete